Is ambidextrous tennis the future? I believe hitting with both left and right hands on the serve is a massive advantage. Left and right overheads are also extremely beneficial but will just be used less throughout the course of a match. But how far can you take Ambidexterity? Two forehands?
I personally like how the backhand compliments the forehand. I am not sure if Steffi Graf had two forehands that she would have been as successful. Her forehand was awesome but her slice stopped her opponents from getting into a rhythm and complimented her forehand perfectly. Its a tough one to call.
There are already some kids using two forehands with a great deal of success. I think the game will eventually end up like this. Also, think about what Graf was trying to do??? Set up her forehand right?? She did this with her backhand slice...well if she had a lefty forehand she would not have to work to set up a righty forehand. She could dominate with the lefty forehand right away. I think this will make the players have to work extra hard on movement due to the ability to stretch their opponents east and west. It will be interesting to see where the game is in 20 years.
Hey Greg, I hear your point and it is the obvious way of looking at things and therefor is hard to disagree with what you say. However, I think it may be slightly more complex. Making women run East to West would increase with two forehands but if we look at what players like Sharapova and almost every other player, they don't like to run on the diagonal or forwards. Navratilova has pointed out on many occasions that she would make girls run on the diagonal and bring them to the net, something that would make it more difficult with two forehands. Steffi's slice made it difficult for her opponents to get into a rhythm and brought them closer to the baseline rather than a player dropping back and getting ready for two forehands. Two forehands would beat a forehand and a topspin backhand I guess but the womens game is crying out for a player that can hit drop shots and volleys and make her opponent volley. most of them have good topsin backhands anyway, just no variety. so personally I take variety and the ability to hit more shots rather than two forehands - in the womens game. Maybe the guys game can evolve to this but the women have another 4 levels of evolution before they try this I think. thoughts?
I agree that variety is lacking in the women's game and that the men's game is many evolutionary steps ahead. One BIG piece missing is the ability to hit a heavy ball. What I would like to see, as well as the other forms of variety you mentioned, is the use of off-speed spin angles to pull the girls forward and wider than the sidelines(what I meant when I said east and west) thus forcing more short balls for them to move in and attack. Or roll them deep and drop them. I have been so perplexed as to why Justine wanted to change her game of variety(it worked against the big hitter for sure) and try to out slug them. What are your thoughts on that?
I personally like how the backhand compliments the forehand. I am not sure if Steffi Graf had two forehands that she would have been as successful. Her forehand was awesome but her slice stopped her opponents from getting into a rhythm and complimented her forehand perfectly. Its a tough one to call.
ReplyDeleteThere are already some kids using two forehands with a great deal of success. I think the game will eventually end up like this. Also, think about what Graf was trying to do??? Set up her forehand right?? She did this with her backhand slice...well if she had a lefty forehand she would not have to work to set up a righty forehand. She could dominate with the lefty forehand right away. I think this will make the players have to work extra hard on movement due to the ability to stretch their opponents east and west. It will be interesting to see where the game is in 20 years.
ReplyDeleteHey Greg, I hear your point and it is the obvious way of looking at things and therefor is hard to disagree with what you say. However, I think it may be slightly more complex. Making women run East to West would increase with two forehands but if we look at what players like Sharapova and almost every other player, they don't like to run on the diagonal or forwards. Navratilova has pointed out on many occasions that she would make girls run on the diagonal and bring them to the net, something that would make it more difficult with two forehands. Steffi's slice made it difficult for her opponents to get into a rhythm and brought them closer to the baseline rather than a player dropping back and getting ready for two forehands. Two forehands would beat a forehand and a topspin backhand I guess but the womens game is crying out for a player that can hit drop shots and volleys and make her opponent volley. most of them have good topsin backhands anyway, just no variety. so personally I take variety and the ability to hit more shots rather than two forehands - in the womens game. Maybe the guys game can evolve to this but the women have another 4 levels of evolution before they try this I think. thoughts?
ReplyDeleteI agree that variety is lacking in the women's game and that the men's game is many evolutionary steps ahead. One BIG piece missing is the ability to hit a heavy ball. What I would like to see, as well as the other forms of variety you mentioned, is the use of off-speed spin angles to pull the girls forward and wider than the sidelines(what I meant when I said east and west) thus forcing more short balls for them to move in and attack. Or roll them deep and drop them. I have been so perplexed as to why Justine wanted to change her game of variety(it worked against the big hitter for sure) and try to out slug them. What are your thoughts on that?
ReplyDeleteThis comment has been removed by the author.
ReplyDelete